

Committees and Membership

Municipal Year 2019/20, from the Annual Meeting, 4 June 2019

A. Leadership Board

Membership: 4 (one Leader/Elected Mayor from each constituent local authority and a non-voting North East Local Enterprise Partnership Member).

Authority/Body	Member	Substitute Member
Durham	Councillor Simon Henig	Councillor Carl Marshall
Gateshead	Councillor Martin Gannon	Councillor Catherine Donovan
South Tyneside	Councillor lain Malcolm	Councillor Tracey Dixon
Sunderland	Councillor Graeme Miller	Councillor Michael Mordey
North East Local Enterprise Partnership (non-voting)	Mr Andrew Hodgson	Ms Gillian Hall

Thematic Lead Areas:

Chair Economic Development and Digital Finance and Skills & Employability Transport



B. Economic Development and Digital Advisory Board (EDDAB)

Membership: 4 (one Member from each constituent local authority), 1 non-voting Member from the North East Local Enterprise Partnership (NELEP) and 4 Co-opted Members representing the following organisations (one from each organisation): the North East England Chamber of Commerce (NECC), Confederation of British Industry (CBI), Federation of Small Business (FSB) and Trade Union Congress (TUC).

Authority	Member	Substitute Member
Durham	Councillor Carl Marshall	Councillor Kevin Shaw
Gateshead	Councillor John Adams	Councillor Malcolm Brain
South Tyneside	Councillor Iain Malcolm	Councillor John Anglin
Sunderland	Councillor Graeme Miller	Councillor Michael Mordey
Also:		
Organisation	Co-opted Member (non-voting)	
North East Local Enterprise Partnership	Ms Gillian Hall	
North East England Chamber of Commerce	Mr Jonathan Walker	
Trade Union Congress	Ms Beth Farhat	
Confederation of British Industry	Ms Sarah Glendinning	
Federation of Small Business	Mr Simon Hanson	



C. Audit and Standards Committee

Membership: 6 (one Member from each constituent local authority and two non-voting Co-opted Independent Members who will act as Chair and Vice-Chair), and also 1 Independent Person for the purpose of the Standards Regime, who is invited to observe meetings.

Political balance: 4 (3+1)

Authority	Political Affiliation (Member)	Political Affiliation (Substitute Member)		
Durham	Councillor Eddie Bell (Labour)	Councillor Bill Kellett (Labour)		
Gateshead	Councillor John McClurey (Lib Dem)	Councillor Jonathan Wallace (Lib Dem)		
South Tyneside	Councillor Gladys Hobson (Labour)	Councillor Anne Hetherington (Labour)		
Sunderland	Councillor Paul Stewart (Labour)	Councillor Anne Lawson (Labour)		
Non-voting Co-opted Independent Member				
Independent Member, Chair	Mr Mark Scrimshaw (Chair)			
Independent Member, Vice-Chair	Mr George John Clark (Vice-Chair)			
Independent Person				
Independent Person	Ms Stella Gardner			



D. Overview and Scrutiny Committee

Membership: 8, and also 2 non-voting Independent Members who will act as Chair and Vice-Chair (two Members from each constituent local authority, who are not Members of the Leadership Board or any other committee of the Combined Authority, plus a non-voting Independent Co-opted Member who will be the Chair and a non-voting Independent Co-opted Member who will be the Vice-Chair).

Political balance: 8 (6+1+1)

Authority	Political Affiliation (Member)	Political Affiliation (Substitute Members)
Independent Person (non-voting),	Mr David Taylor-Gooby (Chair)	Not applicable
Chair		
Independent Person (non-voting),	Mr Simon Hart (Vice-Chair)	Not applicable
Vice-Chair		
Durham	Councillor Rob Crute (Labour)	Councillor Malcolm Clarke (Labour)
	Councillor Alison Batey (Labour)	Councillor Richard Manchester (Labour)
Gateshead	Councillor John Eagle (Labour)	Councillor Neil Weatherley (Labour)
	Councillor Jonathan Wallace (Lib Dem)	Councillor Ron Beadle (Lib Dem)
South Tyneside	Councillor Wilf Flynn (Labour)	Councillor Doreen Purvis (Labour)
	Councillor Geraldine Kilgour (Labour)	Councillor Joyce Welsh (Labour)
Sunderland	Councillor Robert Oliver (Conservative)	Councillor Peter Wood (Conservative)
	Councillor Doris MacKnight (Labour)	Councillor Paula Hunt (Labour)