

North East Combined Authority, Leadership Board

Tuesday 13th November, 2018 at 9.15 am

Meeting to be held: Committee Room, Gateshead Civic Centre, Regent Street, Gateshead, NE8 1HH

www.northeastca.gov.uk

DOCUMENTS CIRCULATED AT THE MEETING

Page No

6. (c) Revised schedule of Committees and Membership 2018/19 1 - 8

Contact Officer: Victoria Miller Tel: 0191 211 5118 E-mail: victoria.miller@northeastca.gov.uk

To All Members





Committees and Membership

Municipal Year 2018/19, from the Inaugural Meeting, 13 November 2018

A. Leadership Board

Membership: 4 (one Leader/Elected Mayor from each constituent local authority and a non-voting North East Local Enterprise Partnership Member).

Authority/Body	Member	Substitute Member
Durham	Councillor Simon Henig	Councillor Alan Napier
Gateshead	Councillor Martin Gannon	Councillor Catherine Donovan
South Tyneside	Councillor Iain Malcolm	Councillor Alan Kerr
Sunderland	Councillor Graeme Miller	Councillor Michael Mordey
North East Local Enterprise Partnership	Mr Andrew Hodgson	Ms Gillian Hall
(non-voting)		

Thematic Lead Areas:

Economic Development and Regeneration Employability and Inclusion Transport and Digital Connectivity



B. Economic Development and Regeneration Advisory Board (EDRAB)

Membership: 4 (one Member from each constituent local authority), 1 non-voting Member from the North East Local Enterprise Partnership (NELEP) and 4 Co-opted Members representing the following organisations (one from each organisation): the North East England Chamber of Commerce (NECC), Confederation of British Industry (CBI), Federation of Small Business (FSB) and Trade Union Congress (TUC).

Authority	Member	Substitute Member
Durham	Councillor	Councillor
Gateshead	Councillor	Councillor
South Tyneside	Councillor	Councillor
Sunderland	Councillor	Councillor
Also:		
Organisation	Co-opted Member (non-voting)	
North East Local Enterprise Partnership	Ms Gillian Hall	
North East England Chamber of Commerce	Mr Jonathan Walker	
Trade Union Congress	Ms Beth Farhat	
Confederation of British Industry	Ms Sarah Glendinning	
Federation of Small Business	Mr Ted Salmon	



C. Audit and Standards Committee

Membership: 6 (one Member from each constituent local authority and two non-voting Co-opted Independent Members who will act as Chair and Vice-Chair), and also 1 Independent Person for the purpose of the Standards Regime, who is invited to observe meetings.

Political balance: 4 (3+1)

Authority	Political Affiliation (Member)	Political Affiliation (Substitute Member)	
Durham	Labour	Labour	
Gateshead	Liberal Democrats	Liberal Democrats	
South Tyneside	Labour	Labour	
Sunderland	Labour	Labour	
Non-voting Co-opted Independent Member			
Independent Member, Chair	Mr Mark Scrimshaw (Chair)		
Independent Member, Vice-Chair	Mr George John Clark (Vice-Chair)		
Independent Person			
Independent Person	Ms Stella Gardner		



D. Overview and Scrutiny Committee

Membership: 8, and also 2 non-voting Independent Members who will act as Chair and Vice-Chair (two Members from each constituent local authority, who are not Members of the Leadership Board or any other committee of the Combined Authority, plus a non-voting Independent Co-opted Member who will be the Chair and a non-voting Independent Co-opted Member who will be the Vice-Chair).

Political balance: 8 (6+1+1)

Authority	Political Affiliation (Member)	Political Affiliation (Substitute Members)
Independent Person (non-voting), Chair	Mr David Taylor-Gooby (Chair)	Not applicable
Independent Person (non-voting), Vice-Chair	Mr Simon Hart (Vice-Chair)	Not applicable
Durham	Labour	Labour
	Labour	Labour
Gateshead	Labour	Labour
	Liberal Democrats	Liberal Democrats
South Tyneside	Labour	Labour
	Labour	Labour
Sunderland	Labour	Labour
	Conservative	Conservative



E. Joint Transport Committee (JTC)

Membership: 7 (4 Members from North East Combined Authority and 3 Members from the North of Tyne Combined Authority)

Authority:	Member	Substitute Member
Appointments from th	ne North East Combined Authority	
Durham		
Gateshead		
South Tyneside		
Sunderland		

F. Joint Transport Committee Overview and Scrutiny Committee

Membership: 14 (8 Members from North East Combined Authority and 6 Members from the North of Tyne Combined Authority)

Provisional political balance: 14 (10+2+2)

Authority:	Political Affiliation / Member	Political Affiliation / Substitute Member
A mana intercepts from	s the Newth Foot Combined Authority	
Appointments from	n the North East Combined Authority:	
Durham	Labour	Labour
	Labour	
Gateshead	Labour	Labour
	Liberal Democrats	
South Tyneside	Labour	Labour
	Labour	
Sunderland	Labour	Labour
	Labour	



G. Joint Transport Committee Audit Committee

Membership: 7 (4 Members from North East Combined Authority and 3 Members from the North of Tyne Combined Authority)

Provisional political balance: 7 (5+1+1)

Authority:	Political Affiliation / Member	Political Affiliation / Substitute Member
Appointments forn	n the North East Combined Authority:	
Durham	Labour	Labour
Gateshead	Labour	Labour
South Tyneside	Labour	Labour
Sunderland	Labour	Labour

H. Joint Transport (Tyne and Wear) Sub-committee (JTWSC)

Membership: 5 (1 Member from each Tyne and Wear constituent local authority from the North East Combined Authority area and North of Tyne Combined Authority area).

Authority	Member	Substitute Member
Appointments from th	ne North East Combined Authority:	
Gateshead		
South Tyneside		
Sunderland		



I. Outside Bodies

Appointments to the Transport for the North committees:

- (a) Transport for the North Board (1 Member and 1 Substitute Member with responsibility for Transport)
- **(b) Transport for the North Scrutiny Committee** (1 Member and 1 Substitute Member but not the appointees to the Transport for the North Board)

Committee	Member	Substitute Member
Transport for the North Board		
Transport for the North Scrutiny		
Committee		

This page is intentionally left blank