Discussions regarding devolution to the North East Combined Authority (NECA), which covers the local authority areas of Durham, Gateshead, Newcastle, North Tyneside, Northumberland, South Tyneside and Sunderland were put on hold following a Government announcement on 8 September 2016 to withdraw the ‘minded to’ devolution deal.

The three local authorities north of the river Tyne, Newcastle, North Tyneside and Northumberland, continued discussions with Government on a new devolution deal and agreed a ‘minded to’ devolution deal with Government on the 24th November 2017. Following a consultation process, the local authorities have worked with Government to enable the creation of a Mayoral Combined Authority and amend the boundaries of NECA.

The NECA Leadership Board, on the 26th April 2018, agreed in principle to Government making the requisite Order, which will allow the three authorities North of Tyne to withdraw from NECA in order to create a new mayoral Combined Authority for the North of Tyne area, and also to maintain governance arrangements for Transport across all seven local authorities.

The two combined authorities will continue to work together on a number of areas, including Transport and Inward Investment and all seven local Authorities remain members of the North East Local Enterprise Partnership.